Please Note: This article is written for users of the following Microsoft Word versions: 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2016. If you are using an earlier version (Word 2003 or earlier), this tip may not work for you. For a version of this tip written specifically for earlier versions of Word, click here: Document Shows as 'In Use' by Another User.

Document Shows as 'In Use' by Another User

by Allen Wyatt
(last updated February 24, 2018)

2

What would you do if you started a new session with Word, and then went to open a document, only to see a message stating that the document you want to open is "locked for editing by another user?" Word gives you the option to open a read-only version of the document, but you want to edit the real document. What do you do?

To understand what happened, it is helpful to understand a little of how Word opens documents. When you open a document, Word creates what is known as an owner file for the document. This file is created in the same folder as the document you are opening. Its name consists of a tilde (~) followed by a dollar sign ($) and then the rest of the file name of the document you are opening. For instance, if you try to open a document named BigBudget.doc, then Word creates an owner file with the name ~$gBudget.doc.

The owner file is a way for Word to realize who has the document open at the current time. It is a temporary file (it is deleted when you close the document) that holds the login name of the person that opened the document.

This is where the confusion comes in. If you see the error message described at the beginning of this tip, it means that one of three conditions exists:

  • Word was shut down improperly and the owner file could not be deleted. For instance, the power to your machine was interrupted for some reason.
  • The document is accessible on a network and a different user has the document open.
  • A second instance of Word is running, and the document is open in that copy of Word.

If you are sure that there is no other user accessing the file, and you don't have it open in another copy of Word, then you can follow these steps so you can open the file normally:

  1. Get out of Word and restart your system. (This flushes out any errant processes that may be "stuck" in memory.)
  2. Using Windows Explorer, display the folder that contains the document you tried to open.
  3. If you see an owner file in the folder (named according to the format previously described), delete it.
  4. You should now be able to start Word and successfully open the document.

WordTips is your source for cost-effective Microsoft Word training. (Microsoft Word is the most popular word processing software in the world.) This tip (11185) applies to Microsoft Word 2007, 2010, 2013, and 2016. You can find a version of this tip for the older menu interface of Word here: Document Shows as 'In Use' by Another User.

Author Bio

Allen Wyatt

With more than 50 non-fiction books and numerous magazine articles to his credit, Allen Wyatt is an internationally recognized author. He  is president of Sharon Parq Associates, a computer and publishing services company. ...

MORE FROM ALLEN

Duplicate Workbooks Opening

If you ever open a workbook and always see two workbooks instead of one, chances are good the reason is because of the ...

Discover More

Determining the Month of the Year

Your macro code may need to determine the month of the year represented by a particular date. You can find the desired ...

Discover More

Characters in the Margin Next to Paragraphs

Laying out a document can be, at times, a challenge. This is particularly the case when you need some special document ...

Discover More

Learning Made Easy! Quickly teach yourself how to format, publish, and share your content using Word 2013. With Step by Step, you set the pace, building and practicing the skills you need, just when you need them! Check out Microsoft Word 2013 Step by Step today!

More WordTips (ribbon)

Can't Save Edited Document

Each day of using Word is filled with opening documents, editing them, and then saving those changes to disk. So it can ...

Discover More

Modifying the Backup Copy File Name

Backup files, created automatically by Word, have the filename extension WBK and start with the words "Backup of." If you ...

Discover More

Saving Documents Using the Same Filename

When working on a document, you most often want to save your edits using the existing name of the document. If Word ...

Discover More
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WordTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

View most recent newsletter.

Comments

If you would like to add an image to your comment (not an avatar, but an image to help in making the point of your comment), include the characters [{fig}] in your comment text. You’ll be prompted to upload your image when you submit the comment. Maximum image size is 6Mpixels. Images larger than 600px wide or 1000px tall will be reduced. Up to three images may be included in a comment. All images are subject to review. Commenting privileges may be curtailed if inappropriate images are posted.

What is five less than 7?

2018-02-26 09:36:52

Tammy

This tip is food for my Word geek soul. Thank you contributors So glad I subscribed to WordTips. I wish I had subscribed sooner.


2018-02-24 12:09:04

Bob Abbott

Thanks very much Allen! I've been having this problem for some time and this will give me a way to fix it. And now that I understand what is going on, I will do some research on what causes a second (or third) instance of Word to open frequently (I cannot see any obvious cause). Your thoughts would certainly be welcome. Thanks again for a great tip!


This Site

Got a version of Word that uses the ribbon interface (Word 2007 or later)? This site is for you! If you use an earlier version of Word, visit our WordTips site focusing on the menu interface.

Newest Tips
Subscribe

FREE SERVICE: Get tips like this every week in WordTips, a free productivity newsletter. Enter your address and click "Subscribe."

(Your e-mail address is not shared with anyone, ever.)

View the most recent newsletter.